Gaming PCs – are they worth it?

There is a common misconception with gaming computers – they are very expensive. I’m here to debunk that and argue a case why they can be worth splashing the cash on.

I was in the same boat as you – thought it would be cool to have a gaming computer but didn’t want to have to spend tonnes to get one. There was some pressure from people at work to get one so I thought I’d have a look and see if you could get one on a budget of around £600. The main reason for this budget is I figured a normal computer would be around 300 to 400 and a gaming console (depending when bought) would be around 250 so figured this would be a sensible budget to combine the two.

First thing to get costs down – build it yourself. It can pretty much half the cost and the feeling of building everything then booting it up for the first time and it working is amazing. My build has got a Nvidia GeForce GTX 960 graphics card, Intel i5 processor and 8GB of memory. With this I can comfortably play most games on medium to high graphics settings with very little lag. With the addition of mod you can turn a good looking game into a mind blowing one even for simple looking games like Minecraft. Mods are essentially the DLC counterpart for consoles but typically made by the public and often free.

maxresdefault (2)

A great selling point for PC over console is the price of games. Most console games nowadays are at least £40 new where as if you buy in the sales or shop around you can get some hefty discounts on the PC counterpart. The sheer volume of games available is crazy. On Steam alone there are over 6000 titles.

How would you build a PC I hear you say? You wouldn’t believe how many tutorials are available for free, especially on YouTube. With modern day components, there is a limited number of ways you can plug them in. Although I did need the help of my mam (mum) as I couldn’t reach in between the case and fan to plug the motherboard power connector in. She managed to reach having smaller hands but only after pushing it in wrong and I thought the whole thing had died when I tried to power it up. I had some major heart palpitations, cheers mam.

Here is a good tutorial video by JayzTwoCents on YouTube for beginners.

The way I see it – you’re getting a computer and a games console combined for the same price, if not cheaper when factoring in the cost of games in the long run. So if you’re thinking about buying either of these in the near future, I’d recommend going up a notch and building your own gaming computer.

Leave a Reply

