Super Close, Wide Fish Eye

 

Smartphone cameras are getting better and better nowadays which is all well and good but but sometimes I feel like there are some cool photos you could miss out on due to their limited function. I know all you hardcore photographers would be up in arms but for casual snappers, sometimes their only camera is their Smartphone of choice!

Anyway, I decided to do a bit of research to see if there was a cheap way to fun-up a Smartphone’s camera. I found a few options in the form of quite expensive cases which looked pretty naff but I did stumble on some clip on lenses which were only around £5 – £15. In the end, I opted for the AUKEY 3 in 1 Clip-on Cell Phone Camera Lens Kit for £13.99. Here’s a couple of photos for what comes in the box.

Using the Clip-on attachment was a breeze to use, simply screw in the lens you want to use and clip it over your camera lens and you’re ready to rock and roll. Sometimes you need to readjust where the lens is sitting  but I found opening the camera app and moving it around was the best way. The kit is pretty much universal so it will fit most phones. I’m using a Samsung Galaxy S6 and it worked a treat with mine.

I’ve played around with it for a couple of days and found the Macro Lens to be my favourite, getting a close up shows up some interesting details! Some of my pictures are below!

Fisheye Lens

Wide Angle Lens

Macro Lens

Not too shabby I thought plus because it’s Star Wars day, I had to take a few photos of Lego Luke Skywalker and his iconic X-Wing! Back on track – I think for less than £20, it’s quite a cool little bit of kit to get some different shots to the every day selfie, landscape shot, etc. If you’ve got anything like this, I’d love to see the results but for now, peace out!


Team Nikon / May the 4th be with you

Leave a Reply

